Home

India in numbers (NFHS-6)

The newest National Family Health Survey (2023–24) against the previous one (2019–21), for India and for Odisha. These numbers are why the steps on the checklist matter.

MeasureNFHS-5 (2019–21)NFHS-6 (2023–24)
Children under 5 too short for their age (stunted)35.5%29.3%
Children under 5 too thin for their height (wasted)19.3%19.0%
Children under 5 severely wasted7.7%5.2%
Children under 5 underweight32.1%31.8%
Children 12 to 23 months fully vaccinated (vaccination card)83.8%87.1%
Pregnancies with a check-up in the first trimester70.0%76.2%
Mothers who took iron-folic acid for 180+ days in pregnancy26.0%37.8%
Births in a hospital or health centre88.6%90.6%
Births by C-section, all21.5%27.2%
Births by C-section, private hospitals47.4%54.1%
Babies breastfed in the first hour41.8%50.1%
Babies under 6 months given only breast milk63.7%55.8%
Babies 6 to 8 months given solid food and breast milk45.9%59.5%
Children 6 to 23 months with an adequate diet11.0%15.3%
Women 15 to 49 overweight or obese24.0%30.7%
Men 15 to 49 overweight or obese22.9%27.3%
Women with high blood sugar or on medicine13.5%17.8%
Men with high blood sugar or on medicine15.6%20.9%
Young women 15 to 24 using hygienic period protection77.6%79.2%
Households with health insurance41.0%60.2%
Women 15 to 49 with anaemia57.0%Not reported
Children 6 to 59 months with anaemia67.1%Not reported
Odisha: children under 5 stunted31.0%26.8%
Odisha: children under 5 wasted18.1%22.1% (up)
Odisha: children under 5 underweight29.7%31.6% (up)
Odisha: babies breastfed in the first hour68.5%60.9% (down)
Odisha: babies under 6 months given only breast milk72.9%66.7% (down)
Odisha: children 6 to 23 months with an adequate diet20.1%14.9% (down)
Odisha: pregnancies with a first-trimester check-up76.9%70.6% (down)
Odisha: births by C-section, private hospitals70.7%76.8%
Odisha: women with high blood sugar or on medicine14.0%21.7% (up)
Odisha: men with high blood sugar or on medicine17.0%26.6% (up)
Odisha: households with health insurance47.9%82.7%
Primary Source: NFHS-6, 2023-24: India and State/UT Fact Sheets (IIPS, May 2026; provisional). Anaemia: NFHS-5 India Report (IIPS and ICF), Tables 10.13 and 10.24; NFHS-6 fact sheets do not report anaemia